Welcome to the Janis Ian Store!
Cart 0
Stars - CD (1974) Downloads and streaming available

Stars - CD (1974) Downloads and streaming available


You can also purchase a digital download or stream by going hereUnfortunately, due to contractual issues we cannot sell downloads of this directly through Janis' site.


  1. Stars
  2. The Man You Are In Me
  3. Sweet Sympathy
  4. Page Nine
  5. Thankyous
  6. Dance With Me
  7. Without You
  8. Jesse
  9. You've Got Me On A String
  10. Applause
  11. Jesse (Bonus Cut! Live!)

The basics: Produced by Brooks Arthur; recorded at 914 Studios, Blauvelt NY, summer 1973; released February 1974 (Columbia). "Jesse" was a top 10 single for Roberta Flack in 1973.

Inside scoop: After six years away from the music business, Stars gave Janis her career.

"I stopped because I was writing rubbish. I went away to find out if I could ever be the kind of writer I wanted to be. I wrote "Stars" one night during 1971, and decided I had a shot".

Having finished that, she moved from Philadelphia to California, where she wrote "Jesse", a song she'd begun at the age of thirteen as an elegy to a Vietnam vet. Despite the quality of her writing, Janis couldn't get a recording contract to save her life until Herb Gart convinced Festival Records, Australia, to put up the money for this album. She teamed up with Brooks, who had engineered "Society's Child", and moved from California to Blauvelt to be near Brooks' studio. She got her contract with Columbia when Charles Koppelman took a chance and sent her to Nashville to perform at CBS Records' annual meeting, saying "If you can get a standing ovation from these guys, you're signed." She did.

Digitally re-mastered import version with updated album art.

Digital version of the original songbook for this album available!

Purchase a digital download of this album from iTunes.

Share this Product

More from this collection